ECL examination- Everything you need to know.

ECL examination- Everything you need to know.

The European Consortium for the Certificate of Attainment in Modern Languages (ECL) is an
interestingly called organisation that is simply an association that brings together several
entities that represent European languages. They provide standardised assessments for EU
member states and applicant countries’ languages. The ECL language examinations are
these standardised tests. The ECL provides a single method for taking several language
competence examinations, which is fantastic information for Europeans (or whomever) who
desire to do so. The exam results are accepted in all member nations without the need for
national validation. The sad fact is that, despite the organization’s purpose of standardising
exams for any and all EU languages, it currently only handles 15 of them: Hebrew,
Hungarian, Italian, Bulgarian, Russian, Croatian, Czech, English, French, German, Polish,
Romanian,, Serbian, Slovak, and Spanish.
You should first deposit the exam cost before taking the exam. The test price is determined
by the Consortium in Euros, but the Country ECL Language Exam Center decides it in the
provided national currency. As a result, rates may vary from place to location. Feel free to
contact the national testing centre directly for further information on how to pay the cost.
Before taking the exam, read the ECL’s general guidance to ensure you understand the
examination guidelines. To undertake an ECL language assessment, you must first register
at one of the approved testing centres. ECL tests are given in more than 200 locations
around Europe, Asia, the Americas, and Australia. On the ECL test website, you can
discover your local exam centre.
In February, April, June, October, and December, the testing takes place five times a year.
English and German examinations are available during each of the five examination periods,
but tests for these other languages are only available twice a year. Distinct language levels
have different testing dates.
The ECL language tests use a four-level structure modified from the Common European
Framework to assess your language abilities. A2, B1, B2, and C1 is the scale. There are four
components to the exam: oral, writing, listening and reading. Each skill is assessed through
two tasks, each of which is graded on a range of 0 to 5, with a total potential score of 25
points for each component. If you score at least 40% on the oral and listening skills, and
your aggregate average is at least 60%, you will pass the oral test. The written test will be
passed with a score of 60% overall and 40% in writing and reading abilities.
The amount of time allotted to finish the entire exam varies depending on the degree of
language competence. People who have taken the A1 level test, for example, will have 35
minutes to complete the reading portion and 45 minutes to accomplish the writing portion,
but those taking the C1 level will have 45 minutes to read and 90 minutes to write.
The test does not include any grammatical examinations or translation exercises, which is
strange (but wonderful news to virtually everyone). On the ECL website, you may learn more
about the exam’s format and components.
Your language tutor will undoubtedly assist you in achieving a good score on your language
exam. Several of our professors have prior experience assisting kids with exams.
It’s also a good idea to acquaint yourselves with the test ahead of time. The ECL provides
practice examinations in all of the areas in which you can take exams. The oral skills would
be the only aspect that would have been more difficult to practise. Telling your language
instructor that you’re studying for a proficiency exam is usually a smart idea since they may
tailor your classes to assist you to prepare for the exam.

Table of Contents

Releted Course

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.